Reviews

Synthesis:Weave can be found on GoodReads, where you can leave a review. Below are a selection from various sources.

Amazon Reviews

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 3 Aug. 2017, Amazon

Like Agent Thorsson’s investigation, this book is more intricate than it first appears…

I was recommended this book by a friend and have just finished reading it. I put it down after the first couple of chapters thinking it wouldn’t be for me, but I’m glad I went back to it. Deane’s very descriptive writing style is wonderful for allowing the reader to picture everything going on inside their mind, but the downside of this is that the story is a little slow to get going whilst everything is being set up.

Much like Agent Thorsson’s investigation though, this book is much more intricate than it first appears and if you stick with it, you are rewarded with a story that has a very strong plot and snowballs to throw all sorts of twists and turns at you, making it difficult to put down. I really like the mix of mythology, science and fantasy that gets woven into the story and how the characters deal with this in their own ways – it is clear a lot of research has been conducted into each of these areas. The interaction between the main characters Sebastian and Aryx, together with their respective character developments and how they end up at the end is very sensitively written, so you get the full spectrum of their feelings towards one another as time goes on. You get some insights into their past and events that have shaped their personalities, but great care has been taken to leave several aspects open for further development in future novels.

Ultimately I did really enjoy this first novel and I’m looking forward to the next one! The fusion of sci-fi, fantasy and crime may not immediately appeal, but if you like any of these genres then I recommend giving this title a go.”

— D Kennaugh

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 30 April 2017, Amazon

Synthesis Weave is a compelling novel that I highly recommend. The novel that combines sci-fi and fantasy effortlessly. Although the writing style takes a while to get used to and the novel starts quite slow (due to world building) by the second chapter I was compelled with the unique story. The novel follows Sebastian – just a security programmer – placed into a special op’s role leading him to investigate a bombing on Tembrae station. At first it is believed to be a terror attack but soon the investigation gets more complex as the situation becomes intergalactic. The novel contains many plot twists and with its unique story makes an intriguing read. To help ground the fantasy very realistic characters are developed, in particular Sebastian’s friend and co-investigator Aryx. His engineering skills and previous profession makes him a strong asset, however being wheelchair-bound it is interesting to follow the struggles of this character and helps center the story. Especially following his journey of gaining further mobility (through the design of ground-breaking technology) allowing someone previously restricted able to travel and explore. An excellent read from a talented author that left me hoping for a second installment.”

— L Brotherick

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 5 Dec. 2016, Amazon

I read lots of scifi novels and found this book to be very original and imaginative. A real page turner! The characters are full and well developed, the plot gripping. As a philosophy student, I found the ethical dilemmas very thought provoking. Highly recommended!”

— B Shuker

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 3 Dec. 2016, Amazon

Very detailed and great descriptions of the world around the characters. Can’t wait to read more.”

— K Child

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 3 Dec. 2016, Amazon

Excellent read! Very interesting, look forward to the next book!”

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 2 Dec. 2016, Amazon

I found the plot interesting and description of the planets very good allowing you to visualize from the descriptions. I read many sci fi books and found this to be captivating after the first chapter. The techno character who is now wheelchair bound but with his development of plasma limbs is something you can imagine would be achievable in the future which made the story line more meaningful. I found the plot interesting and description of the planets very good allowing you to visualize from the descriptions. A very good read and looking forward to the sequel.”

★★★★☆ 4 out of 5 stars, 1 Dec. 2016, Amazon

A believable mix of science, logical sci-fi and magic. A gripping page-turner with very interesting and well-reasoned fictitious extensions to science. I wasn’t sure I would enjoy logical attempts to explain magic, but with clear rules and boundaries in place it really works. Relatable characters and a flowing narrative. A great read!”

— E Rogers

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 16 Nov. 2016, Amazon

Fresh, technical and gripping. I scheduled this read into a break between GoT books, thinking it would be a quick light read before moving on with Tyrion et al. Wrong! I bought into the characters quickly and there were many “can’t put it down” instances! There is a fascinating and thought provoking skirt around the dangers of machine ethics which played with my emotions. This was a tale of ambition, camaraderie and evil manipulation. I loved it!”

— Twoarmadillos

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 1 Oct. 2016, Amazon

A cleverly crafted piece of sci-fi. A really enjoyable read, I loved the characters, a gripping read and lovely book.”

— Julie

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 20 Aug. 2016, Amazon

Imaginative first novel. After the first few pages I really did think this book was not for me, as sci-fi is not my usual genre. However, I persevered and then found it opened out to give an imaginative mix of sci-fi, fantasy and magic. The characters were full and believable and the strong imaginative plot with its twists and turns, laughs and sadness meant it was a book I couldn’t put down. Detail of future technology, a disabled character (Aryx) in the wheelchair and the introduction of magic gave the book real depth. It’s a great debut novel from a very imaginative and plausible author. The book is crying out for a sequel and I’m certainly keeping my eyes open for that.”

— Zaps

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 17 July 2016, Amazon

A good mix of fantasy, Sci Fi and some magic thrown in. I haven’t read many Sci Fi books but have watched many films and series.
I chose to try this one as the cover caught my eye. A man and a wheelchair hanging from a cliff. Good start.
The book is slow moving to start with but has a good flow to it and draws you into the next chapter. It easily got me hooked as the story unfolds. I liked the fact that issues such as disabilities and the use of wheelchairs, although still to be resolved in the future, set no bounderies for the character.
A bond forming with two different characters takes you along their journey. The ups and downs of their travels, twist and turns, magic and secrets, held my attention.
My only criticism would be a little more description of some characters. I know some people prefer less and as the story unfolds you begin to understand and be part of their journey again.
The writer built up speed quite cleverly as the pace of the story increases and ends with you wanting more.
I definitely will be keeping my eye open for more work from this author.”

— C King

★★★★☆ 4 out of 5 stars, 7 July 2016, Amazon

A really strong plot with a unique combination of both Sci Fi and Fantasy makes for an interesting read.
Following Sebastian, a security programmer, a man who dreams of adventure. His dreams are about to come to a reality when he meets agent Gladrin who invites him to join Earth Sec Special Operations and help investigate a strange piece of technology stolen from a terrorist organisation with the help of his wheelchair-bound friend Aryx.
After the bombing on Tenebrae station, Sebastian is brought to help. Maybe the technology and the bomb are linked? However, once it is discovered the bomb was an inside job, who can be trusted?”

— Sarah

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 21 Feb. 2016, Amazon

Recommended to me as a good read. I was enthralled! The bond between the two main characters is a story of its own as they weave us through space on the hunt for a murderer! Full of twists, turns magic and fantasy and I was not disappointed with the twist at the end! I want more Deane Saunders-Stowe!”

— Jan

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 2 Feb. 2016, Amazon

I love Sci-fi and Synthesis: Weave’s fusion of science, magic and religion makes it all the more interesting. The characters are compelling and believable; I can’t wait to hear about Aryx and Sebastian’s next adventures!”

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 1 Jan. 2016, Amazon

I realy enjoyed reading this book and I can’t wait for the next one. I would like to highly recommend it.”

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, November 12, 2015, Amazon

Deane Saunders-Stowe is a new author who I’m extremely excited about! I had a chance to talk with him about some of his philosophies about how reality and science fiction are inherently interwoven and I love the fact that he tries to keep his storylines grounded in realism even though he’s weaving tales about fantastical events. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and hugely look forward to continuing the series. This one’s going on my long-term shelf!”

— Benjamin

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 4 Sept. 2015, Amazon

Absolutely loved this book! The relationship between the two main characters is very interesting, and as the plot develops you learn more about each one. The story itself is brilliant, really liked how the intricacies are revealed slowly too as you carry on reading each chapter. Very funny, very touching. Brilliant book!”

— A Banneville

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 29 Aug. 2015, Amazon

Great book written by local author. Keep writing Deane xx. Superb mix of magic and science fiction. Love the way hero aryx overcomes his disabilty and makes it a super ability. A novel twist.”

— Angel

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 17 July 2015, Amazon

Loved this book. Great pace, great imagination and fascinating characters. Can’t wait for the next thrilling instalment!”

— P Wadsworth

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 29 April 2015, Amazon

A thoroughly entertaining read, true sci-fi fantasy. I look forward to the next instalment so well set up in the close of this one.”

— M Ewers

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 14 April 2015, Amazon

Great Story, looking forward to the next book! Fantastic first book by this author. His imaginative description of places and people involved in the story makes it so you can picture what is happening. I don’t normally read this genre of books but I would highly recommend it!”

— Lisa

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 14 April 2015, Amazon

Great Fantastic Fab Superb! After the first few pages I was hooked to the story I wanted to put it down but couldn’t I read most of it on a 3 hour train Journey which killed time big style.. A great debut novel and look forward to reading more from you.”

— S Phillips

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 11 Mar. 2015, Amazon

A very good read. I like the way Deane mixes magic with science. The characters are very believable. I hope he writes more I can easily see a series coming out of this. I also want a Jim-Bob 🙂 ( To get the reference buy the book its worth it )”

— R Harris

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 7 Feb. 2015, Amazon

A scifi story that keeps you gripped from beginning to end, with many twist & turns, a must read for all scifi fans. An Excellent read.”

— Mr C

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 21 Jan. 2015, Amazon

This first novel by new author Deane Sauneders-Stowe was a gripping scifi read. Shows great imagination and you can almost believe some of the ideas to be true. I couldn’t put it down.”

— J Williams

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 16 Jan. 2015, Amazon

Thoroughly enjoyable. It caught and held my attention throughout. Very well considered story with enough drama and twists to keep tension. Brilliant!”

— Mr M

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, 11 Jan. 2015, Amazon

An excellent debut novel from a talented writer. Fantastic plot, thoughtful, imaginative and perfectly paced. The characters are three dimensional, realistic and well balanced. A very enjoyable read, I was totally engrossed. Highly recommend this book. Looking forward to more from Deane Saunders-Stowe.”

— K D Hescott

Goodreads

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, Jan 01, 2016, Goodreads

I really enjoyed reading this book.I would like to highly recommend it.”

— Dorota Kepa

★★☆☆☆ 2 out of 5 stars, Dec 18, 2015, Goodreads

I debated for some time whether to round this 2.5-star read up to 3 (“I liked it”), but there just wasn’t quite anything to tip the balance. TBH, I’m still debating; I may read the sequel when it comes out, and if I enjoy that one more, I’ll probably go ahead and raise this one’s rating, too.

  • The writing is competent, but not particularly rich or graceful. At times, it felt a bit in need of more “Show, don’t tell.”
  • The characters are developed, and pleasingly unusual choices for action/suspense heroes, but I didn’t really care deeply about either/any of them (partly because it seemed like there was an awful lot of snappishness, especially at first, though that may just be me). The character I liked best, I won’t reveal because spoilers.
  • The plot/premise is creative and original, but convoluted — and a bit metaphysical, which I’m not into. (I know, I was warned; I actually liked the way the boundaries between magic/faith and science/rationality are blurred/altered, but …)
  • Events are kind of hastily wound up before the end’s lead-to-the-next twist.

In short, it feels like what it is: a first book from an author with potential.

Oh, and one more thing: there are far too many scenes that struck me as resembling the “heading into the dark basement alone while there’s a killer on the loose” sort of rash foolishness you find in too much fiction, whether the writer has it work out for good or ill. They’re even often out of communication, at times needlessly. Plus Sebastian doesn’t ask nearly enough questions nor do enough prep/training in the beginning of his new job; while some reasons become clear later, it was hard to suspend disbelief re. SpecOps putting him in charge of an important investigation. The mystery aspect was part of what made me decide to give it a try (besides the low price for a full-length story), but Seb darts back and forth across the galaxy on the slimmest leads.

BTW, I notice in a couple other reviews that this book is sometimes listed as a M/M title. The two main characters are friends who care deeply about one another, but there’s zero romance of any sort, at least so far. I don’t know whether the author intends to go in that direction as the tale progresses in the next volume — he states that Aryx was inspired by his own wheelchair-using life partner, and Seb recoils almost violently from the most innocuous signs of interest from a female — but if you pick up this book expecting either sexy times or declarations of love, you’ll be disappointed.”

— Diane

★★★★★ 4.5 out of 5 stars, Sep 08, 2015, Goodreads

What an awesome sci-fi, I still have no idea how it’s been placed on some M/M lists though but it’s a great book.”

— Paul

★★★★★ 5 out of 5 stars, July 18, 2016, Goodreads

I loved this book! The book is about Sebastian – a security programmer who gets promoted into Specops – and his disabled ex-marine friend Aryx who are tasked to investigate the scene of an explosion. The two travel through space to many different locales and planets to piece together the truth. Saunders-Stowe creates a different and unique universe in which everything occurs in. I loved every minute of this book. I felt that the story was not predictable. No matter how much you felt you knew what was going on, new information and obstacles were thrown your way. There were many different layers to the story. I cannot wait for the second book! I’d like to hear more about the universe that has been created and more about Sebastian and his new career in Specops. I can’t really say that there’s anything I didn’t like; I felt that the story went well together with all of its different components. I would recommend this book to everyone. I will definitely be reading it again, thus the 5 stars.”

— Sara

Jul 18, 2015, Goodreads

Science fiction, Jim, but not as you know it. It takes skilful writing to mix magic with science whilst moving a detective story smoothly through space. Somehow, this has been achieved in a believable and satisfying journey, where heroes are not necessarily humanoid nor fully mobile. It feels thoroughly researched and never warps into wild fantasy, keeping its feet solidly in fiction. A fast-moving book that grips the reader and doesn’t follow a linear plot line but where the author, literally, weaves all of the threads together in an exciting climax.”

— Michael Poynton

Unrated, Goodreads

An interesting read from Saunders-Stowe that has some fantastic ideas and concepts but does not quite hit it’s potential. With some targeted editing and some slight re-imagining this could be a really great book but I personally didn’t find myself engaging with the characters or the story as much as I like too. I also have a trigger that rears it’s ugly head when I start thinking a book is going to get religious on me.”

— Charlie – A Reading Machine

Direct reviews:

This is a great story, fusing sci fi; sci fantasy; detective and mysticism to excellent effect. Very well worth reading! It kept my attention throughout and I can’t wait for the next book in the series.”

— V Mitchell

The novel grips you from the very beginning and just like a roller-coaster, takes you to cliff-hanger situations then calms you down afterwards, but just enough so you enjoy the next ride, instead of dozing off. Every step you take is accompanied with stunning details, elaborate storyline and an occasional punchline. You feel your way around the story with main characters, enjoy a bit of humour at places and did I say it is very gripping? A must-read book from an up and coming author, cannot wait for further releases.”

— F Raza

I thoroughly enjoyed it. It kept me engaged the whole way through, and I really wanted to find out what would happen. I really appreciated the way that the story often went in directions that I hadn’t foreseen. The characters were three-dimensional, believable and most importantly likeable. My favourite thing was the attention to detail in the future technologies. Very interesting things were done with the CFD concept and everything in the book passed the scientific ‘sniff test’. None of it came across as mumbo-jumbo. The way that you brought together magic and technology was very original. Particularly the way in which the one of the non-humanoid characters was able to perform magic. I don’t think I’ve seen anything like that before. One of the plot threads reminded me a bit of The Reality Dysfunction by Peter F Hamilton, but the main difference is that I got bored of the latter about half-way through and couldn”t be bothered to finish it. So you definitely win on that one. Congratulations on producing a darned fine piece of work. It would appear from the ending that you intend to write more. This is a good thing. It’s quite clear that you’re the ‘real deal’ as an author.”

— A Harrison

Goodreads reviews